What is the Internet of Things?

Similar to the “Internet of People”, the Internet of Things (IoT) is a structure which enables communication and data exchange between things.  However, the difference here is that the objects interact with each other irrespective of direct human interaction. After all, the ultimate goal of the Internet of Things is to help people.

This networking of objects is mainly possible due to the development of miniaturized computer chips, sensors and components for data transmission with which all possible everyday objects as well as industrial machines are equipped.

The IoT and its technologies are a central element of the 4th industrial revolution.

The goal of IoT is to make the statuses of the things concerned measurable and controllable. A reaction can therefore take place to certain statuses if necessary in order to improve its usability for the consumer.

Technological basis for the Internet of Things

  • The development of RFID, radio-frequency identification (a radio technology with which objects became identifiable automatically and without contact using radio waves) is considered to be the fundamental technology of the Internet of Things.

    Furthermore, all kinds of sensors and actuators that make the functionality and detection of statuses and the carrying out of actions possible are now also regarded as important elements.

  • Internet of Things - Radio technology

Requirements of IoT

  • Low energy consumption, low maintenance costs, a long service life and low manufacturing costs are among the basic requirements of the IoT technologies.

    The use of IoT technologies for the mass market is only applicable if they can be used on an extremely large quantity of items in a financially sensible way.

    Only then can the potential of these technologies be fully exploited. The demands made of the software also differ dramatically from all previous implementations.

    Operating systems with IoT capability generally have storage and energy consumption that are as sparing as possible in accordance with the architecture of the integrated circuits.

  • Internet of Things - Energy consumption

Demands made of the Internet of Things

  • There is a great deal of potential in many areas in the IoT – it is not without reason that experts agree that we are talking about one of the central factors driving the economy of the 21st century.

    In order to realize its full potential, the researchers, developers and operators who would ultimately like to integrate the IoT in their products and their production are faced with several challenges.

    In order to achieve IoT that is as comprehensively integrated as possible, which is needed in order to make full use of its strengths, it would be beneficial to use components and applications that are as standardized as possible. These standards must first assert themselves on the market.

    The more comprehensive a system is, the more prone it tends to be to security breaches. The more pervasive the networking, the greater the potential is for damage to the system and even damage caused beyond the system. Another security factor is the network connection, which is a challenge for the companies using IoT technology.

    Another challenge at the moment is the cost. The technologies of the Internet of Things may well be already available, but integrating them into mass production quickly results in skyrocketing manufacturing costs.

  • Internet of Things - Data transfer

Was ist das Internet of Things?

Ganz wie das Internet der Menschen, ist auch das Internet of Things (IoT) eine Struktur, welche der Kommunikation oder dem Austausch von Daten dient. Der Unterschied ist allerdings, dass beim Internet of Things die Dinge unabhängig von direkter menschlicher Interaktion miteinander interagieren. Ziel des Internet of Things ist dabei letztlich ebenso, den Menschen zu dienen.

Möglich wird diese Vernetzung von Objekten vor allem durch die Entwicklung von miniaturisierten Computerchips, Sensoren und Komponenten zur Datenübertragung, mit welchen alle möglichen Alltagsgegenstände und auch industrielle Maschinen versehen werden.

Das IoT und seine Technologien sind ein zentrales Element der 4. industriellen Revolution.

Ziel des IoT ist es, Zustände der betroffenen Dinge messbar und steuerbar zu machen. Dadurch kann gegebenenfalls auf bestimmte Zustände reagiert werden, um ihre Nutzbarkeit für den Konsumenten zu verbessern.

Technologische Grundlagen des Internet of Things

  • Als grundlegende Technologie des Internet of Things gilt die Entwicklung von RFID, der radio-frequency identification, eine Funktechnologie mittels welcher Gegenstände mittels Radiowellen automatisch und berührungslos identifizierbar wurden.

    Desweiteren zählen inzwischen auch alle möglichen Sensoren und Aktoren, welche die Funktionalität und die Erfassung von Zuständen, sowie die Ausführung von Aktionen ermöglichen, zu wichtigen Elementen.

  • Internet of Things - Funktechnologie

Anforderungen an das IoT

  • Zu den grundsätzlichen Anforderungen der IoT-Technologien zählen vor allem ein geringer Energieverbrauch, geringe Wartungsaufwände, hohe Haltbarkeit und günstige Herstellungskosten.

    Der sinnvolle Einsatz von IoT Technologien für den Massenmarkt ist nur dann gegeben, wenn diese ökonomisch sinnvoll auf eine sehr große Zahl von Artikeln anwendbar sind.

    Nur dann kann das Potential dieser Technologien voll ausgeschöpft werden. Auch die Anforderungen an die Software unterscheiden sich dramatisch von allen vorhergehenden Implementierungen.

    IoT-taugliche Betriebssysteme sind vor allem ein der Architektur der Chips entsprechender möglichst geringer Speicher- und Energieverbrauch.

  • Internet of Things - Energieverbrauch

Herausforderungen des Internet of  Things

  • Im IoT birgt sich großes Potential in vielen Bereichen – nicht ohne Grund sind sich Experten darin einig, dass es sich um einen der zentralen wirtschaftstreibenden Faktoren des 21. Jahrhunderts handelt.

    Um es zu seiner vollen Entfaltung zu bringen, stehen der Forschung, den Entwicklern und den Betrieben, die das IoT letztlich in ihre Produkte und deren Produktion integrieren möchten, jedoch einige Herausforderungen bevor.

    Um ein möglichst umfassend integriertes IoT zu erreichen, was notwendig ist, um seine Stärken voll ausspielen zu können, ist es von Vorteil, möglichst standardisierte Komponenten und Applikationen zu nutzen. Diese Standards müssen sich am Markt erst durchsetzen.

    Je umfassender ein System ist, umso tendenziell anfälliger ist es für Sicherheitslücken. Je durchdringender die Vernetzung wird, umso großer sind potentiell die Möglichkeiten, das System zu schädigen und auch über das System hinaus Schaden anzurichten. Ein weiterer Sicherheitsfaktor ist die Netzwerkanbindung, bei der die Betriebe gefordert sind, welche IoT-Technologien einsetzen.

    Eine weitere Herausforderung sind derzeit ebenfalls noch die Kosten. Zwar sind die Technologien des Internet of Things bereits verfügbar, sie jedoch in die Produktion von Massenwaren zu integrieren, lässt deren Herstellungskosten rasch in astronomische Höhen schnellen.

  • Internet of Things - Datentransfer